Residential conveyancing is the legal process of buying or selling a residential property. Most people who aren’t familiar with the process use a solicitor to act for them when they buy or sell residential property. In addition, mortgage lenders typically require that the conveyancing process is carried out by a solicitor when they provide a mortgage for a property purchase.

When a residential property changes hands, the residential conveyancing process includes three stages:

  1. Agreement to sell;

  2. Exchange of contracts;

  3. Completion of sale.

The process starts when a buyer and a seller make an agreement to sell, and ends when the buyer of the property receives the keys. However, while every sale includes these three stages, the actual process you go through is different depending on whether you’re buying or selling a residential property.

Ardens Solicitors LTD, company registered in England and Wales, registered number 10322886.  Ardens Solicitors LTD is authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority, registered number 635126. Details of the solicitors' rules can be found at


Directors: Mr Rashpinder Singh Mahal, Solicitor and Ms Ivona Supernat, Solicitor

Registered Office: Norvin House, 45-55 Commercial Street, London, E1 6BD

This web site contains general information and although every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of all information provided, the contents of this site should not be construed as legal advice and we disclaim any liability in relation to its use. This firm is not authorised under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000

  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon